I ain’t gonna lie to you, It’s gonna be a tough week. We play the early game and if you’re employed, it might be tough to get to the field by 6:30, depending on where you work and live.
We’ll be playing Awkward Mornings. These guys were the Refs for our game last week and are high strung dicks. I hate to make generalizations like that, but they had some hyperactive dickheaded guys on their team and that’s what I remember from reffing their game. I’m sure 80% of their team is made up of nice folks, but the vocal 20% are what I remember.
They’re a good team and play with solid strategy and defense. We’ll have to keep our heads in the game to beat them, but they’re not too much better than we are.
Since we have at least 5 people who are going to be doing a triathlon on Sunday, I am not expecting much from them. I know I strained my back last Tuesday and I think Kickball played a part in that injury. These people have been training since before Halloween for this race and I’m certain they don’t want to be taken out the week before by a school yard game. That said, We’ll be there and play if necessary. However, I’m not going to be pitching.
Ryan Lim, a veteran of the Sotally Tober Machine will be rejoining us after completing his bowling season. He’s volunteered to be our pitcher for the game, and hopefull the similarity between bowling and kickball pitching will lead to confusion at the plate for the Awkward Mornings crew.
I’ll be coaching from the sidelines for the most part, so we’ll have some leadership this week, and hopefully that will make a huge difference and we’ll come out at 2 – 1.
The best thing about the 6:30 game is that you get to the bar before 7:30 and there’s plenty of space and you can get a bite to eat and you can move around and you can get several games of flippy cup in before it becomes a battle in the Mill.
Comment below and let us know if you can make it tomorrow.
Monday, April 23, 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
8 comments:
I'm there!
min and cath will b there!
Crazy week at work for me...I'm pretty sure that I won't be able to make the game, but will try to meet up with y'all at the Mill. Good Luck!!
I will be there with my head in the game. Also, good luck to the triathletes on the team.
I'll be there with Sunshine cheering (yelling) from the sidelines. Yes! Go Team!!
Will be with Teen and Sunshine heckling the Awkwards. Looking forward to some post-race flip cup!
I'm going to 2 games in a row. See you all there!
I'll be there tonight!
Post a Comment